Kiese Laymon “How to Slowly Kill Yourself and Others in America: A Remembrance”

-I receive a sweet letter in the mail with the burnt up ashes of my essays. The letter says that if I don’t stop writing and give myself “over to right,” my life would end up like the ashes of my writing.

-16 months later, I’m 18, three years older than Edward Evans will be when he is shot in the head behind an abandoned home in Jackson.

-I am still 19, two years older than Trayvon Martin will be when he swings back.

-The day that I’m awarded the Benjamin Brown award, named after a 21-year-old truck driver shot in the back by police officers during a student protest near Jackson State in 1967, I take the bullets out of my gun, throw it in the Ross Barnett Reservoir and avoid my Grandma for a long, long time.

– I don’t know what’s wrong with me.

Leave a Reply

